What makes something go viral?

It has been a while since I posted in this blog, a lot has been going on.

The #getyourbellyout campaign being the highlight.

The campaign took momentum and has raised a lot of money and has done a lot of good. The video is nearing 6000 views and still going, though it is beginning to slow. The amazing team have not stopped though, they are now selling merchandise, and have a competition for a calendar.

We should be proud of that achievement, but this week I read a blog post by jess at uncover ostomy and realised I feel the same as her.

An interview on the BBC, which was hijacked by some ‘expert’to say ibd is caused by junkfood, very quickly this took up speed, all the papers were writing it and soon the lies became viral.

As mentioned the #getyourbellyout campaign gave people the courage to post pictures of there belly’s, including us ostomates.

So a month or so in, a girl in a bikini with an ostomy, a very good looking girl, who said she aspired to be a model, suddenly began appearing everywhere! Her photo went viral, her story went viral.

download

Now yes I am mostly happy about this, but it makes me think. All the papers and everyone who shared it began thinking that the campaign was after her picture, and that we got our confidence from her, when in fact it was the other way round!

Some of us ostomates have not been afraid to wear bikinis as shown in the ostomy awareness video from many years ago.

Some of us have been spending nearly every spare moment trying to raise awareness  jess being one of them, a very beautiful model who began the uncover ostomy campaign and spending years dedicated to it. So why didn’t any of her pictures go viral?

download (1)

So in the scheme of things is 5000 really that big? I have been doing a few other videos for different causes lately, and as usual sharing the video’s everywhere. Check out my videos, on youtube, meardonna mearvideos.

I noticed my husband sharing ridiculous video’s, when I look at these daft videos the views are in the hundred thousands!! Here is a recent video he posted and yes it is a bit funny but still! and it has had over 85,000 views!

What also annoys me is he never shares my videos unless I twist his arm, yet he shares all of this trash! I am thankful for my many friends who do share my videos, but they never build up that momentum. 

In a world where an overgrown kid gets famous for recording himself playing a stupid xbox game, with hours and hours of total rubbish, and the most annoying laugh in the world, I begin to think something is seriously wrong!

Maybe I’m just having a failure moment but it makes you think.

Leave a comment